A new chapter for JCU student union

January 22nd, 2015


Another era has arrived as JCU welcomes a new executive board and senate members to the John Carroll University Student Union. On Thursday, Jan. 15, the LSC Conference Room was filled with those in support of those being inducted, including students, faculty, staff and proud friends and family.


The evening began with a farewell address from former Student Union President, senior Tim Ficke. Ficke thanked his friends, family and fellow Student Union members. Special thanks were given to the executive board, Director of Student Activities Lisa Ramsey, Office of Student Activities Administrative Assistant Janet Paradise, the Rev. Bernie McAniff and senior Brianna Lazarchik.


Ficke shared a theme of love throughout his address. He proved his love by long nights in the Student Union office, but also showed appreciation for the love around JCU’s campus. He alluded to the funeral service held for the late Pat Waldron and how an impressive amount of John Carroll students made the trip to Buffalo to support their fallen Blue Streak. Ficke’s began individually thanking the members of the executive board he had spent the past year serving with. Exiting members include seniors Scott Stewart, Danni Keane, Tim Johnson and Elliot Shimmerhorn, as well as junior Cole Hassay.


Hassay was the man of the hour, inaugurated as the 93rd student union president. He opened his inauguration speech with a quote by Winston Churchill, “To improve is to change, to be perfect is to change often.”


Returning to the executive board after serving as the vice president of student organizations, Hassay is experienced and prepared for his new responsibilities as president. The changes that Hassay has in store for John Carroll are three fold: transparency within the Student Union, improvement of facilities and dining and increase in campus diversity. Hassay is excited to make John Carroll a unified environment. The diversification of JCU is important to Hassay as he says, “we are all blue streaks,” he said.


Joining Hassay in the inauguration ceremony was the rest of 2015 executive board. The members are as follows: junior Paul Campbell as the Executive Vice President, freshmen Adrienne Metzger as the vice president of communication, sophomore Deane Stillwagon as the vice president of business affairs, sophomore Benjamin Hudson as the Vice President of student organizations, junior Matthew Hribar as the vice president of programming and junior Noble Churovia as the vice president of judicial affairs. Along with each executive member, the student senate members were also sworn in.


Towards the end of the evening, a number of students of organizations received the 2014 “Of The Year” awards. These awards include, but are not limited to the Greek Organization of the year, won by Lambda Chi Alpha, Cultural Organization of the year, won by the African American Alliance, Student Leader of the year, won by senior Mary Lutter, advisor of the year, won by McAniff, student organization of the year, won by the Carroll Crazies and Student Senator of the year, won by senior Samuel Braun. Each recipient of an award demonstrated exemplary leadership and developments to the John Carroll environment.